Caltech Swimmers and Divers Start New Campaign

Caltech Swimmers and Divers Start New Campaign

NOTE -- An early version of the story posted an incorrect team score. After double-checking the results, Caltech won both meets.


PASADENA, Calif. – The Caltech swimming/diving team began their 2011-2012 campaign on Wednesday evening at the Braun Pool with a dual meet against Vanguard.

The Beavers took home victory in the women's meet with a 162-49 triumph while the men's squad won a tightly contested meet 122-96.

One Meter Diving Video -- Jessica Swallow, Ben Grabowski, Justin Johnson

50 Meter Races -- Women Heat #1, Women Heat #2, Men Heat #1, Men Heat #2

The Beaver women won seven individual swimming events led by first year swimmer Jacqueline Mashei-Lano. The native of San Marino, Calif., finished first in all three individual events she competed in. Mashei-Lano won the 200 yard freestyle (2:03.87), 100 yard butterfly (59.62) and 100 yard breastroke (1:15.09) to bring home 27 total team points. In addition, he butterfly time set a new school by .89 seconds besting the previous mark Jacki Wilbur (1:00.53) set in 2004.

Janis Intoy swam the 1000 yard freestyle in 13:06.10 to finish first in the longest competition of the meet. The senior also posted a first place finish in the 200 yard IM with a time of 2:30.61.

Margaux Lopez posted a winning time of 1:11.66 in the 100 yard backstroke in her first collegiate competition. Rachel Moore rounded out the first place finishers for the Beavers by winning the 500 yard freestyle in 6:54.49

In the men's meet Zach Gomez helped the Beavers sweep the 1000 yard freestyle as he touch the wall in 12:24.78 which was almost 14 seconds ahead of the second place finisher. The senior also placed second in the 100 yard freestyle (54.47) as he scored 13 team points for Caltech.

C.J. Culpepper provided a solid meet during his first collegiate competition. The first year swimmer placed second in the 200 yard freestyle (1:58.52) and 100 yard freestyle (1:06.21).

Vanguard didn't send any divers to compete as Justin Johnson took top honors in the one-meter and three-meter diving competitions. Teammate Ben Grabowski placed second in each event to bring home eight team points. Timi Kosztin won the three-meter competition while teammate Jessica Swallow won the one-meter event.