Volleyball Unveils Fall 2015 Schedule

Volleyball Unveils Fall 2015 Schedule

PASADENA, Calif. (July 2, 2015) – The Caltech volleyball team has unveiled its schedule for the Fall 2015 season.  The Beavers will contest 13 home matches, including the home opener on Tuesday, Sept. 15.

Schedule

"I am excited about the upcoming season, especially since we are adding some much-needed size to our team," Head Coach Tom Gardner said.  "We are looking to hit our stride earlier in the schedule and continue improving throughout the season as we build toward the future."

Caltech opens the season with a four-match road trip, beginning at West Coast Baptist College on Tuesday, Sept. 8.  The Beavers defeated the Lady Eagles in last season's finale in Pasadena, triumphing in a five-set thriller that kicked off with a 31-29 first-set victory for the hosts and included a whopping 122 combined digs and 122 combined points.

The Beavers waste no time in beginning conference play as SCIAC runner-up and national No. 9 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges (27-7 overall, 14-4 SCIAC) host Caltech on Thursday, Sept. 10.  Gardner then takes the team through the Angeles National Forest to Lancaster, where Caltech will face the University of Antelope Valley for a pair of matches on Saturday, Sept. 12 to close out the first week of the season.

The first home stand of the fall consists of two weeknight matchups with fellow Pasadena resident Providence Christian College and the University of La Verne (20-7, 12-4), which received votes in the final national coaches' poll.  The Beavers welcome the Sea Beggars for the home opener on Tuesday, Sept. 15 at 7:30 p.m. and the Leopards two days later on Thursday, Sept. 17 at 7:30 p.m.

A four-match road trip is next on the slate as the Beavers head to Chapman University (8-18, 7-9) on Friday, Sept. 25 and turn right around to face the University of Redlands (3-19, 3-13) and Providence Christian College in a tri-match on Saturday, Sept. 26.  Caltech also faces Pomona-Pitzer Colleges on Tuesday, Sept. 29.

The Beavers return to Pasadena for a single match against Occidental College (6-20, 4-12) on Thursday, Oct. 1 at 7:30 p.m. before getting back on the road to take on La Verne on Saturday, Oct. 3 and Whittier College (8-17, 6-10) on Tuesday, Oct. 6.

Caltech welcomes No. 7 Cal Lutheran University (29-3, 15-1) on Thursday, Oct. 8 for a 7:30 p.m. first serve and Mills College, against whom the Beavers split a doubleheader last year, for another pair of matches on Sunday, Oct. 11 at 12 and 2 p.m.

A home matchup with CMS on Friday, Oct. 16 at 7:30 p.m. is sandwiched between the Beavers' final two away matches of the year, at Cal Lutheran on Tuesday, Oct. 13 and at Oxy on Saturday, Oct. 17.

Caltech enjoys six straight home matches to end the season, starting with Chapman on Tuesday, Oct. 20 at 7:30 p.m.  Redlands and Pomona-Pitzer come in for back-to-back matches on Friday, Oct. 23 and Saturday, Oct. 24, both at 7:30 p.m.  Antelope Valley arrives in Pasadena on Tuesday, Oct. 27 before the final SCIAC game of the season, versus Whittier on Saturday, Oct. 31 at 7:30 p.m. 

The Beavers close out the season hosting West Coast Baptist on Tuesday, Nov. 3 at 6 p.m.

 

 

*All game dates, times and locations are subject to change

 

 

 Follow and show support for your Caltech Beavers on Twitter (@CaltechBeavers), Facebook and YouTube!